Care Certificate

The Care Certificate was funded by the Department of Health (DOH) and created by Skills for Care and Skills for Health in collaboration with employers in the care sector.


It sets out the minimum level of knowledge, understanding and practical skills that all care workers should have.

Care workers are not required to have attained their Care Certificate, however it is recommended that all workers new to the care industry work towards the Care Certificate as part of their induction and it should be completed within 12 weeks of their start date. Workers that have already been working in the care industry for period of time or have already achieved their Level 2 Diploma in Care or higher would not be expected to do their Care Certificate.


More detailed Care Certificate Answers can be found here.

The Care Certificate is split into 15 standards, each exploring a particular aspect of working in Care. The standards are:

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person-centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control


Don`t copy text!