Care Certificate Answers

Care Certificate Answers are posted here as they are published. If there is no answer posted, it will be because the question has not yet been asked. We hope to provide answers for all the Care Certificate Workbooks by the end of the year.


If you have a Care Certificate question, please use our contact form to ask us! We’ll post the best of them here with the answer, and we’ll provide links to the Care Certificate Workbooks so you can find the answers for yourself.

Below, we have provided frequently asked questions about the Care Certificate.


What is the Care Certificate?

The Care Certificate is an entry-level credential for new entrants in the health and social care sector. It is jointly developed by Skills for Care, Health Education England, and Skills for Health.

The Care Certificate is made up of 15 standards, each covering a topic forming part of a robust induction programme to care. Each standard of the Certificate has an attached workbook that learners can use to record their knowledge and demonstrate their understanding of the assessment criteria.


The Care Certificate has 15 standards, each one covering a topic important for a good care worker. Each standard has an attached workbook that learners can use to demonstrate and maintain a record of their knowledge.

StudyPrism will provide Care Certificate answers for each of the 15 standards. We have already published a set of Care Certificate study guides, which can be used to help you understand the assessment criteria and what your assessor is looking for and can help you to answer the workbook questions. These are provided for free.


We are currently working on Care Certificate Workbook answers but, in the meantime, we recommend checking out DSDWEB’s Care Certificate Answers.

The 15 standards are

  • Standard 1: Understanding your role
  • Standard 2: Your Personal Development
  • Standard 3: Duty of Care
  • Standard 4: Equality and diversity
  • Standard 5: Work in a person centred way
  • Standard 6: Communication
  • Standard 7: Privacy and Dignity
  • Standard 8: Fluid and Nutrition
  • Standard 9: Dementia, Mental Health and Learning Disabilities
  • Standard 10: Safeguarding Adults
  • Standard 11: Safeguarding Children
  • Standard 12:  Basic Life Support Completed
  • Standard 13: Health and Safety
  • Standard 14: Handling Information
  • Standard 15: Infection Prevention and Control

We hope our Care Certificate answers are useful for you and help you progress in your chosen care career.

Is the Care Certificate Mandatory?

The Care Certificate is not a legal or regulatory requirement. However, the Care Quality Commission (CQC) will expect that new employees in regulated services pass the competencies needed for the Care Certificate as part of their induction and that there is evidence to reflect this.


Where can I find answers to the Care Certificate?

Answers for the Care Certificate can be found at They are 100% free and we won’t ask for your email address or make you sign up to get access.

Who is licensed/accredited to provide the Care Certificate?

No-one. Skills for Care, Skills for Health and Health Education England have produced a joint statement to state that “No provider has been ‘licenced’ to award the Care Certificate. Such a licence does not exist.” and “No providers are accredited to deliver the Care Certificate. Some organisations may have had their training externally quality assured by a third party and we would encourage providers to explore this option but no provider has been ‘accredited’ to deliver the Care Certificate.”


If a training provider makes claims that they are licenced or accredited by one of the above organisations, they are misleading you.

Who can assess the Care Certificate?

The guidance states that anyone that is deemed competent in the area of assessment is suitable to assess others.


Who signs the Care Certificate?

The Care Certificate should be signed off by the employer, usually the registered manager.

How much does the Care Certificate cost?

The Care Certificate resources on this website are provided 100% free, however, employers will still need to assess their employees themselves before awarding the Care Certificate.


Can you fail the Care Certificate?

No, you cannot fail the Care Certificate but it will take longer for some than others to complete and you won’t be awarded a certificate until you have completed all 15 standards. Over time, you will add evidence to your portfolio until you have achieved all of the assessment criteria.

How long does it take to complete the Care Certificate?

It is recommended that the Care Certificate should be completed within 12 weeks but the actual timescales will vary between individuals. Some may complete it in less than 12 weeks and some may take longer. The important thing is that the learner develops their knowledge and skills with support from their employer. We also provide support on this website.


Who needs to complete the Care Certificate?

No one needs to complete the Care Certificate because it is not a mandatory requirement, however, all health and care professionals should be able to provide evidence that they possess the skills, knowledge and understanding that the Care Certificate Assesses.

This can include adult care/support workers, healthcare assistants and carers in nursing and residential homes.


How do I answer my care certificate questions?

You can use the free resources on this website to help you with your Care Certificate answers but most of the assessment criteria are open-ended and you should demonstrate how the knowledge and principles relate to your own role.

Can you get all the answers for the Care Certificate?

Yes, all the answers for the Care Certificate are available on this website, however (as stated above) there is no single correct answer and so answers should not be copied but used as a guide to help you understand what is expected from your assessor.


Do I need to do the Care Certificate if I already have a Level 2 or 3 Diploma/NVQ in Care?

As stated previously, the Care Certificate is not mandatory, although it is highly recommended.

The assessment criteria for the level 2 diploma in care and level 3 diploma in adult care are very similar to the Care Certificate but there are some differences. If the Care Certificate is assessed by a qualified assessor then some of these criteria can be mapped to the diplomas/nvqs to reduce the duplication of work.


Do you need the answer to any more Care Certificate questions? If so, drop us a line and we will do our best to answer.

Don`t copy text!