1.1b List the standards and codes of conduct and practice that relate to their role

As a care worker, there is no official regulatory body that you must be a member of, however there are standards and codes of conduct that you will be expected to adhere to.


Care Quality Commission Fundamental Standards

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) has published 13 fundamental standards which all individuals receiving care can expect. They are:

  1. Person-centred care – Care and treatment must cater to the individual’s needs and preferences
  2. Dignity and respect – All individuals must be treated with dignity and respect and have access their privacy respected
  3. Consent – Treatment and care can only be given with an individual’s prior consent (or the consent of anyone that is legally entitled to make decisions on the individual’s behalf)
  4. Safety – Individuals receiving care must not be put at risk of avoidable harm and all care and treatment must be safe
  5. Safeguarding from abuse – Individuals must be protected from abuse and neglect
  6. Food and drink – Individuals receiving care must be provided with enough food and drink to remain healthy
  7. Premises and equipment – Premises and equipment must be clean, well-maintained, safe and used correctly
  8. Complaints – Systems must be in place so that individuals receiving care can complain and all complaints are taken seriously and investigated
  9. Good governance – Care providers must have plans in place to meet these standards, improve services and reduce risks as well as having robust quality assurance systems
  10. Staffing – Care providers must have properly trained and qualified staff and staff must receive training and supervision to assist them with their role
  11. Fit and proper staff – All staff must be able to carry out their role and recruitment processes should have thorough background checks
  12. Duty of candour – Care providers must be open honest and transparent about an individual’s care and apologise for and attempt to resolve any mistakes that are made
  13. Display of ratings – CQC rating must be visible and shown on the care providers website

Read about Fundamental Standards on the CQC website


The 6 Cs

The six Cs are a framework of core values for nursing, midwifery and care staff and underpin everything that they do. The 6Cs are:

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Competence
  4. Communication
  5. Courage
  6. Commitment

Read about the 6Cs on the RCNI website


Code of Conduct

The Code of Conduct for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers in England outlines the behaviour and attitudes expected from care workers. Although sign-up is voluntary, it is seen as best practice.

It was jointly developed by Skills for Care and Skills for Health and was funded by the Department of Health.


Read the Code of Conduct

Sticking to these standards and codes of conduct ensure that the individuals that you support are receiving the best possible care as well as protecting yourself from disciplinary or legal action.

Don`t copy text!