Level 2 Diploma in Care

The Level 2 Diploma in Care is a nationally and industry recognised qualification for the care sector.


Most care workers that have been working in the care industry for over 6 months will want to pursue this qualification to demonstrate their understanding and competency in their role. Most good care companies will require that all their employees either have or are working towards their Level 2 Diploma.

The Level 2 Diploma in Care consists of 9 mandatory units that must be completed by all learners. Because of the diverse needs of individuals that require care, there is also a selection of over 100 optional units that learners can complete depending on their areas of work and expertise. Optional units include topics such dementia, learning disabilities, mental health conditions, medication etc. A typical learner would need to complete around 5-6 optional units.


The 9 mandatory units for the Level 2 Diploma in Care are:

  1. Responsibilities of a care worker
  2. Personal development in care settings
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and inclusion in care settings
  5. Implement person-centred approaches in care settings
  6. Communication in care settings
  7. Safeguarding and protection in care settings
  8. Health, safety and wellbeing in care settings
  9. Handle information in care settings


Don`t copy text!