Level 2 Diploma for the Early Years Practitioner

The Level 2 Diploma for the Early Years Practitioner prepares learners with the knowledge, skills and understanding they need to work with children from birth to five.


It consists of 14 mandatory units each with several learning outcomes and assessment criteria. Criteria will be assessed through a variety of methods, including observation, so you will need a suitable placement within an Early Years Setting to complete this qualification.

The 14 units are:

  1. Roles and responsibilities of the Early Years Practitioner
  2. Health and safety of babies and young children in the early years
  3. Equality, diversity and inclusive practice in Early Years Settings
  4. Safeguarding, protection and welfare of babies and young children in Early Years Settings
  5. Understand how to support children’s development
  6. Support care routines for babies and young children
  7. Support the planning and delivery of activities, purposeful play opportunities and educational programmes
  8. Promote play in an Early Years Setting
  9. Support well-being of babies and young children for healthy lifestyles
  10. Support babies and young children to be physically active
  11. Support the needs of babies and young children with Special Educational Needs and Disability
  12. Promote positive behaviour in Early Years Settings
  13. Partnership working in the early years
  14. Support the needs of the child in preparing for school
Don`t copy text!