Identify notifiable diseases

Qualification: NCFE CACHE Level 3 Diploma for the Early Years Educator
Unit: Unit 1.5: Understand how to support children who are unwell
Learning outcome: Understand legal requirements for reporting notifiable diseases
Assessment criteria: Identify notifiable diseases


Some diseases, primarily those that are highly infectious, require reporting to public health authorities. This is to provide statistical information about the disease, or so that action can be taken to prevent it from spreading. This information is collected by the UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA).

A list of notifiable diseases at the time of writing can be found below; however, this list updates periodically, so it is helpful to refer to the master list on the government’s website.

  • Acute encephalitis
  • Acute infectious hepatitis
  • Acute meningitis
  • Acute poliomyelitis
  • Anthrax
  • Botulism
  • Brucellosis
  • Cholera
  • COVID-19
  • Diphtheria
  • Enteric fever (typhoid or paratyphoid fever)
  • Food poisoning
  • Haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS)
  • Infectious bloody diarrhoea
  • Invasive group A streptococcal disease
  • Legionnaires’ disease
  • Leprosy
  • Malaria
  • Measles
  • Meningococcal septicaemia
  • Monkeypox
  • Mumps
  • Plague
  • Rabies
  • Rubella
  • Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS)
  • Scarlet fever
  • Smallpox
  • Tetanus
  • Tuberculosis
  • Typhus
  • Viral haemorrhagic fever (VHF)
  • Whooping cough
  • Yellow fever

In the next section, we will look at the process for reporting notifiable diseases.

Don`t copy text!